What is consciousness

I don’t know. But this question has hooked me for quiet some time. I was reading about human anatomy, brain and heart. I started knowing and wondering about how a life comes into existence. Obviously its meeting of cellular substances but then how do they obtain a faculty called mind! Rather a surprising question to answer is how does an object called brain attain conscious? When does it begin to recognize element ‛I’. Well, if your answer is as soon as foetus is born, then you are not right. Because the first organ that forms is not just brain. Its along with heart (5 weeks from conception). What can I say about that organ then. Does it have consciousness? Yes as well as no! It has life but it doesn’t have mind. Or to put it this way, it has self but no ‛me’. All living beings breath. Does it mean our consciousness exhibits itself through our breathing. Isn’t this the reason why we call a dead body dead as it can’t breath! It loses consciousness, it loses ‛I’ and  it loses life. Who is the maker then. Is mother who nourishes that foetus or does it comes with its own ‛self-consciousess’. Do we give birth to a new life or we simply are agents to pass one spirit in some form into another. I don’t know. Do you?

Author: anilkshatriyablog

I work as Assistant Professor in the area of Accounting at IMT Nagpur. I love teaching, writing and cycling. I follow a simple principle, 'Help ever, hurt never'.

2 thoughts on “What is consciousness”

  1. Once again a post that persuades me to 'introspect.' Doesn't this 'I' factor active from the very beginning? or it is the learning curve that brings in this factor? Confused.. but motivated.. My new research work. Sir, do let us know the answers to the questions that you have left for us to ponder…

    Like

Leave a Reply

