United States of India

Some parts of U.S.A are densely populated with Non Resident Indians. These are people who have either temporarily or permanently migrated to U.S. A large majority of them visit India once in a year. I recently happened to meet one such family. This blog is about Americanized Indian who knows he/she is as desi as before but constantly struggles to embrace this reality publicly. 

I said, “namaste bhabhi ji“. She said ..”a hi! Sup?”

I asked when did you come. She described the flight journey from Manhattan to Mumbai.

I was about to appreciate the change in her appearance. She explained, at length, favorable climatic conditions back there. 

I had begun to exhibit wonderment about infrastructure she enjoyed. She suppressed my joy by mourning about pitiful state of development in here.

I did not dare to compare earnings. She presented the whole economics of it.

I was about to feel sorry for what I deserve but din’t get. She lightened the mood by offering plate full of ‘Ferrero Rochers’.

On asking her about her plans to ‘return’ back, she turned down the question by asking me, “when are you guys planning a trip to U.S.”

I din’t have anything more to ask and she did not have anything left to share.

So, finally I thanked her for her time and she thanked me for my patient listening.

Author: anilkshatriyablog

I work as Assistant Professor in the area of Accounting at IMT Nagpur. I love teaching, writing and cycling. I follow a simple principle, 'Help ever, hurt never'.

Leave a Reply

