The charm of number One Zero Zero (100)

The number ‘100’ occupies a very special position in any layman’s life. For a mathematician it might look like any other number. But for you, me and us, 100 means century and century signifies an important milestone in varied facets of life. Broadly it is a reflection of consistency in performance. This is getting too generalized, but let me take some liberty to celebrate my 100th blog post with a pat on my back!


Things that I can associate 100 with are very routine type. Things like –

In school (equally so in college), 100 marks question paper.

Century in the game of cricket. Sachin Tendulkar …because 100=10^2 i.e. One 10’dular is as good as two batsman (Century = 10’dulkar to the power of 2 batsman).

100 Crore club with respect to box office collection of movies.

100 years of age…some score a century here as well. Chinese/Japanese are good at this game.

100th anniversary of some great personality/event…like Tagore’s Noble Prize centennial year.

100% Discount on certain products. This is a marketing gimmick that I came across once in a local store at Lonavala. What the seller wanted to say was Buy one and get another at 100% Discount!

100% Pure/Safe/Hygienic/Healthy …another marketing ‘tag’ to attract customers.

Top 100 movies of all times.

100 richest people in the world.

Indian mother’s favorite reprimand “100 times I have told you not to ……”

This list can have 100 different examples. But often it’s good to use 99 or 99.99% confidence level in order to shy away from truth. 

So let me be 99.99% sure that you like my blogs and want me to score at least another century.




Author: anilkshatriyablog

I work as Assistant Professor in the area of Accounting at IMT Nagpur. I love teaching, writing and cycling. I follow a simple principle, 'Help ever, hurt never'.

Leave a Reply

