Street Puppies

This morning I saw 4 street puppies. Innocent, cute and cuddly puppies. But wait. Where is their mom? I don’t see her anywhere near them. I looked around in anxiety. What I saw made my heart sink. She was run over by a speeding truck. She died leaving behind her four babies at the mercy of nature. This happened in a flash. Now my cab is far away from the scene. But my mind still engaged there, wondering who will take care of her little ones. 

My mind goes back to similar gruesome scenes I had seen as a kid. I got lost in my past. Suddenly I came back to this ghastly present tense. More questions are clouding my thoughts. Who takes care of such destitute children on these merciless streets? I am wondering whether all forms of life on this planet are made to survive or made to die. How does life continue despite of all odds attempting to shatter its faith? How on earth do children on streets gather hope to make living possible? How does nature perform a balancing act of keeping some alive while taking some away? Is this is grand design or just a random experiment?

Mothers have being bestowed with a divine force to heal their children. They can feel the pain of their children. They know how to keep their children happy. Animals, including we humans, are under maternal care of mother nature. She makes it possible to provide us with all the essential warmth and energy. No matter how gruesome the streets that we build become, nature will always make survival an uncompromising phenomena. 

It is true that some street puppies will continue to suffer separations but the force of life will stand vindicated. We all are passing shadows. What will remain is that force of mother’s love which will continue to keep life going on this planet and perhaps many others like this.     
Author: anilkshatriyablog

I work as Assistant Professor in the area of Accounting at IMT Nagpur. I love teaching, writing and cycling. I follow a simple principle, 'Help ever, hurt never'.

Leave a Reply

