Paytm Kiya

First things first. I’m not endorsing Paytm or Demonetization using this blog! This is yet another truely random account of my ordinary day to day life. Please don’t relate this blog with anything in Indian polity or banking.

Last Saturday I went out with my family to a place called Telankhedi in Nagpur. Telankhedi has a lovely old temple situated on a hillock near the Futala lake of Nagpur. The true attraction of this place, more than the temple, is a shop named Samosawala, a well known snack vendor famous for his mouth watering samosas and chat.

I bought snack coupons worth Rs. 220 and while I was about to pay the cash I saw the Paytm scan image placed on shopkeeper’s desk. “Please use it, if you have the option. I shall prefer it.”, the young shopkeeper said with a broad smile on his face. I was glad. I did a quick scan and it worked. The amount was paid in no time. Later, while collecting the order, we decided to cancel one of the items from the order and returned the coupon back to the payment desk. As I was eager to take the bite of Samosa, I forgot to ask for the refund for this coupon. Well, on my way home, I got reminded of it and I decided to carry out a small social experiment to understand whether the ‘non-cash’ mode is really worth prioritising for seller and the buyer!

Today, two days later, on Monday I texted the owner, Karan Yadav (I got his mobile number from Paytm receipt) that I happend to pay Rs. 40 bucks (actual worth of returned coupon) and asked him for a refund. In no time I got his reply that the amount will be sent back to my wallet! I was delighted. Well, in few hours I got Rs. 40 back in my e-wallet without haggling or even elaborating what really was my case. I think transparency builds trust. Trust builds business, government and society.

Here is the story in pictures. Vijay Shekhar Sharma and thy team at Paytm, standing ovation.

Author: anilkshatriyablog

I work as Assistant Professor in the area of Accounting at IMT Nagpur. I love teaching, writing and cycling. I follow a simple principle, 'Help ever, hurt never'.

Leave a Reply

