Introspection

“What can we gain by sailing to the moon if we are not able to cross the abyss that separates us from ourselves? This is the most important of all voyages of discovery, and without it, all the rest are not only useless, but disastrous.” 

                  – Thomas Merton

I came across these lines in June 2011. I wrote them down on a piece of paper. I still have that piece of paper with me. Today while I was going through it, I felt like sharing something on this blog.
Human mind gets programmed by thoughts. So much so that we accept our  pattern of thinking as some random reality (by calling it as our nature!). But we are what we think. We are just an output to the program written by us, for years together.

Positive thoughts make us innovative, jovial, energetic and benign. Negative ones spread pain, destroy hope, restrict possibilities and inflate ego. 

We can choose what we want. Circumstances give us ample opportunities to experiment.

All we need is mirror of the mind. To reflect upon truth, as it is. Without any bias or preoccupied notion. Clean and clear.

When I was in school, we had a poem in Class 10 – “Mirror” by Sylvia Plath. These four lines from “Mirror” have somehow just stayed with me ever since then;

I am silver and exact. I have no preconceptions.
Whatever I see I swallow immediately
Just as it is, unmisted by love or dislike.
I am not cruel, only truthful-
The eye of the little god, four cornered.

So next time you are in front of a mirror, think of the one inside you. Clear the mist. Two lines of your own little god are more powerful than thousand words of others.
Author: anilkshatriyablog

I work as Assistant Professor in the area of Accounting at IMT Nagpur. I love teaching, writing and cycling. I follow a simple principle, 'Help ever, hurt never'.

1 thought on “Introspection”

Leave a Reply

