Frog (in the Well) & Tortoise (in the Shell)

Once upon a time, not long ago though, there lived two friends. One was a frog and other was a tortoise. Both belonged to the same community. Both were amphibians. Frog live in a well. Tortoise had his own little home in the form of his shell. Sometimes frog used to come outside his well on invitation from his tortoise friend. Similarly tortoise used to visit frog in the well. Both lived happily as they had different targets. Their friendship was one of the most talked about relations in Jungle. It was very astonishing for other animals to believe how an aggressive frog and a docile tortoise go hand in hand. Strange but as they say friendship, unlike any other relationship, has neither explanation nor it seeks one.

Though frog and tortoise agreed with each other on many matters, there were issues on which their thinking could not find equilibrium. They never quarreled with each other and this resulted in suave but poignant exchange of words full of sarcasm. Here is what happened a few days back. No, it’s not a fight or argument. Just some sparks, crackles and smoke. 

Tortoise – You have a very limited view of world around you. You are good but to succeed you need more exposure. 

Frog – You are good but too meek and shy. Everybody around you tries to dominate you. You need to be a little more assertive. 

Tortoise – No doubt you are athletic in nature but you need to slow down. Concentrate on your inner self. Relax and stay calm. 

Frog – No wonder you have attained steady state of body and mind but too much softness will leave you behind.

Tortoise – Behind! Behind whom? Life is not a race!

Frog – Yes, but it demands speed and force. Life demands energy and passion. It demands physical strength. Else you will suffer.

Tortoise – Suffer! Suffer what? I don’t hoard anything. I am happy with my freedom. I have no worries. This shell is my world. I need no other wealth.

Frog – You are very conservative. You have no aspirations. You are nothing but a living log floating purposelessly with several other logs in this great green ocean. 

Tortoise – Frog, grow up. Understand that success is not measured by what you have. If at all you wish to measure it, measure what you ‘don’t have’. Look at me. I don’t have to jump from rock to rock in search of food. I don’t have to find shelter when it rains. I don’t have to end other lives to make my living. I have neither voice nor beauty. Who wants me? The more you have, the more you want. Stop this running in all directions.

Frog – Well, I don’t understand you. I just want growth and recognition. I am going. That well there is a nicer place than your little shell. Good bye. Closed minded Tortoise, you will never ‘reach’ where I would one day.

Tortoise – Good bye buddy. Thanks for those wonderful words. But mind you deserve a better place. Get ‘Well’ Soon Mamu 🙂

I don’t know what happened later. But the moral of this story is simple. Do work hard, do compete, do ‘run’ to ‘reach’ wherever you wish to but never underestimate others Respect both knowledge and ignorance.
Author: anilkshatriyablog

I work as Assistant Professor in the area of Accounting at IMT Nagpur. I love teaching, writing and cycling. I follow a simple principle, 'Help ever, hurt never'.

Leave a Reply

