Day Dreaming

Often when people are sitting in a conference, workshop or meeting, one of the following is very likely –


Private planning for evening…collecting clothes from laundry …calling maternal uncle…picking some vegetables while going home…

Reconciliation of expenses ….if 1000 were withdrawn from ATM on Monday…I spent 200 that evening and 450 next evening on……and now the balance is…where did i spend 350??

Day dreaming…three years down the line I will make it…new house with lavish kitchen….that big MUV….’that job’…pleasant weekends …accommodating colleagues…  

Critical review of recent past events…the food that we ordered yesterday was not that great…may be we should have tried that one…it was bit expensive…not again from that place…

Judgement on someone’s personality….that guy was ok…he can be a good friend…she seems to be selfish…she was trying to be nicer than she is….
Generating alternatives….iphone is not my phone…Andriod 4 inch….5 inch is too big…but it also serves as alternative laptop…what to do…

Checking mobile phone..again and again….i should have got his reply by now…may be he is busy…may be he is avoiding to reply….

Cursing forgetfulness ….oh no i forgot to pay the credit card bill..yesterday was due date …oh no…i forgot to book her (here, his/her refers to spouse) ticket….

Self glorification – it was very difficult but I made it possible…I have developed a great sense of humor…I am not like them…I believe in talking less and doing more….

Nostalgia – three years back on this very day….last June I was…..Just 3 months back …and see how things have changed….

Waiting eagerly for lunch – looking at the watch …again and again…imagining menu and almost eating it too! If it’s a post lunch session…coffee must be ready outside…

If you have gone through none of these detours, you are an extra-ordinary human being. Keep it up. 

Let me know about you and also about how you make it possible. Next time, along with some of the above mentioned things, I can also think of you while I am sitting in a conference, workshop or meeting.


Author: anilkshatriyablog

I work as Assistant Professor in the area of Accounting at IMT Nagpur. I love teaching, writing and cycling. I follow a simple principle, 'Help ever, hurt never'.

2 thoughts on “Day Dreaming”

  1. Being a part of corporate culture, my ego dont allow me to accept all these stuff openly, though most of the things are true.
    In many cases, i believe, meeting is called just to create some hype.
    If you really want to get the things done, just go & talk withthe concern.
    I personaly feel, day long meetings are always boring.

    Like

Leave a Reply

