Bald Balder Baldest

Hair ‘n’ Care aptly summarises my state of mind for past few weeks. I’m losing hair and so I’m trying to give my best shot to take care of the remaining ornamental cover. I have tried everything. But they seem to be determined to ditch me forever. I am trying various hair oils, homeopathic medicines, herbal lotions, medicinal tablets and household remedies! But my hair fall is crazily increasing. ‘Go Bald’ looks like the new mantra coming on my way!


So now I wonder what joys of life men would miss (women are fortunate to keep this gift with them for lifetime) if they are born bald and continue to remain so. Imagine a generation where all men are bald! We would have missed

1. In childhood all our adventures which take place in a hair cutting saloon. The range is from apprehensive crying to haggling with the barber for a particular cut. 

2. Looking into the mirror ten times a day to see if the ‘setting’ is alright.

3. Changing hair styles to ape our favourite hero. 

4. Buying newer variants of shampoos even if the existing brand does a great job.

5. Long chats with friends about cause and effect relationship between anything under the sun and hairfall. 

6. Motor bike rides with wild wind blowing through the hair. 

7. Going to gym, pulling weights and desperately burning calories on a treadmill without shaking locks! The feeling of ‘workout’ would remain incomplete.

8. Worrying about how we look and trying to see if ‘everything’ appears fine just before entering an interview room during placements.

9. From being ‘just friends’ to ‘going on a date’ to ‘is in relationship with’ all these twists owe something to our hair. They make us feel we look good!

10. Apprehensions of spotting that first grey hair (pehla safed baal).

And of all things that natural baldness would save this world from natural tension of ‘oh am I getting bald’. 

But then that generation would never know what does it mean by ‘Baal Baal Bach Gaye’ 🙂




Author: anilkshatriyablog

I work as Assistant Professor in the area of Accounting at IMT Nagpur. I love teaching, writing and cycling. I follow a simple principle, 'Help ever, hurt never'.

Leave a Reply

