Andazaa Apna Apna

All of like to guess. We like to make predictions about almost everything around us. Predominantly about people. What they think, what they will say, how they will react, where they will go, what they will do etc. Have you ever thought why all of us are so much in love with this trend analysis and forecasting? Don’t you feel most of us focus majority of our time and energy on living life of a statistician who always has to say something about appropriateness of where we are going!

I think we are wired for this quality. If not atleast we get conditioned to think like a futurist. Remember your childhood days when it was very common to ‛forget’, like next day’s homework or notebook. With age came maturity to remember and so came bondage of worrying about all those roles that you ought to perform in future. Funny part of this change is no one taught us to become like that. Natural programming isn’t it!

So I often end up making guesses about student feedback, outcome of a research paper, PhD work, fellow faculty’s affiliations, landlords likely rent hike, weight gain, wife’s next demand (and surprise) and much more. All of them might prove wrong. None of my guesses may come to pass. That is where the beauty lies. That is the charm of every new morning.

Tomorrow is Sunday. I guess I might get a sweet dish like Gajar ka Halwa for lunch. But If this prediction comes true something will ‛surely’ happen. 1000 kcals will be added to my weight. I hope she proves me wrong.

Author: anilkshatriyablog

I work as Assistant Professor in the area of Accounting at IMT Nagpur. I love teaching, writing and cycling. I follow a simple principle, 'Help ever, hurt never'.

2 thoughts on “Andazaa Apna Apna”

  1. I just wish that if this 'forecast' is eliminated from the brain cells of 'Homo Sapiens', the world would be a better place to live in, relationships would be much more sweet, stereotyping would fade away and there would be less disappointments. But, at the same time, I feel it helps us live our life. I mean until and unless we have a desire/aspiration/wish/hope that there is something that would happen tomorrow and would add on to the stack of happiness or success, there would be no joy or reason to live.
    Once again an amazing post sir. Persuaded me to introspect (a hope that the dinner would be tasty. 😀 )

    Like

Leave a Reply

