Tea, Kapda aur Makaan

The updated version of three basic needs of man is – Tea, Kapda aur Makaan! Roti can be excused for bread/bun/dosa but not the Tea. Coffee is a substitute but not when your purpose of tea is to transcend into divine blissful state of ‘nothingness’..especially for the post lunch meditation at work!!

I don’t exactly remember when did I drink my last cup of tea. But it was some 13 odd years ago. Not even once since the day I decided to quit drinking tea. In those days I was an ambitious and bookish kind of teenager. Someone told me that drinking tea affects memory, darkens complexion and reduces logical reasoning. That very day I decided to quit drinking tea. As years passed I cleared the misconceptions about the likely dangers of drinking tea but the habit of avoiding it just stuck around. 13 years and counting…

Sounds funny and it actually is. I have got myself in awkward situations during formal meets and informal gatherings. People have scoffed-off this so called (by me) virtue by disbelieving that this can be true. Farcical and far-fetched as it looks, it is actually extremely delightful and easy. I never looked back. I don’t care whether it’s good or bad for health. I just don’t want to. And so I have neither pain of abstinence nor pleasure of persistence.

So…I took solace in “Coffee”. I do drink coffee..a lot of coffee. Infact as they say when somebody loses one sense some other sense becomes very strong. In my case it’s the non-sense of coffee that has become strong! I don’t count the cups and since at my workplace the vending machine is handy you can imagine how ‘a lot (of calories) can happen over (and over) cups of coffee’….I just had one before writing this blog.

Tea or Coffee. Or both. But not none. I am sure that’s how most of us are. May be big-bang has some connection or may be Darwin use to drink a lot of tea and coffee…there is some connection with our very nature. There is something that makes it our basic need.

Let me see if one more can be arranged before I go to bed.

 

Author: anilkshatriyablog

I work as Assistant Professor in the area of Accounting at IMT Nagpur. I love teaching, writing and cycling. I follow a simple principle, 'Help ever, hurt never'.

1 thought on “Tea, Kapda aur Makaan”

Leave a Reply

